Skip to content

When the muse strikes…

May 30, 2009

In about an hour, I’ll be leaving for the airport to fly back to Kansas for my granddaughter’s first birthday. I’ve already stuck my small spiral notebook and pen in my purse, in case ideas come to me in-flight.

The muse has come upon me so strongly lately, and usually while I’m at work and can’t really devote a lot of time to writing it all out, so I use the notebook and jot notes, hoping they’ll make some sort of sense to me when I get home in the evening.

Sometimes I have so many novel and short story ideas pop into my head that I need to write quite a bit down.

Management, I am surmising, would be less than pleased to see me sitting at my desk scribbling in a notebook instead of nose to the grindstone (or keyboard, as it works out) so much like Sara Gruen, I’ve found a quiet place in the building to run to for a few moments when excess note jotting is required.

I’m hoping I have a chance to do a lot of notations while I’m gone, but yet I fear my revived obsession a bit. I don’t want to become so inspired this week that I’m blatantly ignoring my family in favor of my passion.

Nah. Never happen. I’ll see the two precious smiling faces of my grandchildren, angels I haven’t seen since Christmas, and all thoughts of the written word will float far away.

Maybe?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

