Skip to content

You knew I was gonna… didn’t you?

June 19, 2009

Are we writers ever truly done with anything we create?

I don’t think so. I think we just finally get to the point where it’s ‘time’s up, pass your papers to the front, please!’ and we’ve done all we can do.

I’ve been going over a short story, futzing with it, fingerbanging it, making sweet love to it, totally revising it – and it’s several years old now.

You know what I need? I need someone to tell me I gotta turn it in to this place on this day by this time, so I’ll leave it alone, at last. You know – one a them thar deadline thingamajiggies. Those things we use as an excuse to procrastinate till a day or two before they arrive.

 It was good when I first ‘finished’ it. It’s good now. I should stop. Really.

Revision was a good thing when I went back over the one I just submitted the other day. I have a really bad habit of starting sentences with ‘but’, and I’d done a lot of that in this piece.

But I found ’em and fixed ’em… 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

