Skip to content

Information overload

August 5, 2009

Did you ever have some small, nagging physical ailment and decide before you call a doctor, you’ll just google your symptoms and see if you can’t self-diagnose – and you end up possibly having everything from brain cancer to leukemia to the heartbreak of psoriasis?

Yeah. That’s kind of what I feel like right now.

I’m trying to take this writing thing seriously now, and I read tweets, I read links, I read blogs…

One says “Do this, by all means. You can’t be taken seriously unless you do.”

Yet another says “For the love of all that is holy, do NOT do that! Your work won’t get read past the first sentence before it’s tossed in a garbage pail!”

And they’re talking about the same thing. Cripes.

I’m about to say the hell with what everyone else advises and do whatever I want till I find something that works. I don’t have a lot of time to waste though. It’s not like I’m starting out with this in my twenties.

Speaking of overload, the muse has returned with a vengeance. I got three ideas today that I’m kicking around – possibly even the notion of fitting them all together in one story instead of making three separate stories out of it all. We’ll see where that leads.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2009 9:33 am

    I think you’re on the right track. Advice and guidance from others is great (and should be sought), but ultimately, you’re going to have to find what works for you. And then do that, leaving the naysayers to…well, naysay.

  2. August 10, 2009 11:48 am

    Hi there Jack, thanks for stopping in 🙂

    And thanks for the words of encouragement. It means a lot to me from anyone, but even moreso from a published author 🙂

Leave a Reply

