Skip to content

Character development

August 18, 2009

I read a great blog entry on this last night, and it’s helping me think about what I want to do with my MC in my NaNo novel from last year.

I want you to like her, you see. If you’re a woman, I even want to you identify with her, either personally, or realize she’s just like someone you know.

Her name’s Cindy. She’s a divorced mother of two, stuck in the same middle of nowhere town she grew up in, currently living with her children in makeshift bedrooms in her parents’ basement (although typing that out, it seems just too cliche?) because she married right out of high school, chose a drinking, abusive loser for a husband, and can’t find work anywhere but the local diner for minimum wage, plus whatever measly tips she can get from the small clientele of a microscopic little burg off the beaten path. She’s had to buy a used car since the old clunker she had when she divorced has long since bitten the bullet, and she has a car payment. Her ex isn’t real good about paying child support. Therefore, she can’t afford, yet, to get a place of her own for herself and her children.

Cindy’s going to get out of that dead end town – but it isn’t going to be under the most pleasant or ideal of circumstances.

Cindy and one or two of my other characters are going to go on to sequels, as well.

I have big plans for Cindy.

I need to develop her more, first. She needs more depth, I think. More subtle underlying nuances for you to pick up on. Cindy just needs to be – more.

I think I’ll work on Cindy this week.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2009 6:12 pm

    So, here you are. I got your blog added to my blog roll so, now I can stop by more easily and bug you to death…fun, huh?

    You have good gut instincts about your character. The things you want to do seem right on point. I’m looking forward to what you decide to do with her. Maybe put her somewhere really different…Alaska? A lumber town in the pacific northwest, heck a foreign country. That’s the fun. Make her a native American, or black, or both. Did you know there are even software packages that help you do character development?

    If you’re on FaceBook, add a networked blog thing, like on my site. Also, look at my blog roll and visit some of those writers, Elizabeth Spann Craig always has instructive and interesting posts, as does Jack Regan.

    You’re gonna have big fun.

    Best Regards, Galen
    Imagineering Fiction Blog

    • August 18, 2009 6:18 pm

      Hi Galen – thanks for stopping by! And thanks for the encouragement, and tips. Lord knows I’m in need of plenty of both. LOL! 🙂

      Those are some great ideas for Cindy. I didn’t have her going all that far away from home – but really – the sky’s the limit, isn’t it? She so much more than what she seems – she’s way better than a waitress job in a ghost town. She’s going to do big things.

      Thanks for adding me to the blogroll as well, and I’ve got you and Jack on mine already. The bugging shall be mutual, my new friend!

      • August 18, 2009 6:27 pm

        Great! Yeah, she’s limited only by *your* imagination, so, start way outside the box and work your way back toward normal. The right place is proably somewhere in the middle. It’s fun. Galen.

  2. August 18, 2009 6:29 pm

    Yet another excellent suggestion. See? You’re just awesome!

Leave a Reply

