Skip to content

“What have you learned from Twitter?”

October 25, 2009

I was asked that question the other day by someone I just began following. I’m not sure why she was asking. She’s a blogger and a freelance writer, so maybe she was gathering info for a blog post of her own, or perhaps an article.

As I told her, that’s a lot to try to fit into 140 chars – so I thought it might make a good blog post.

I started a Twitter account 2 or 3 years ago and didn’t do much with it. It didn’t look like it was anything really special to me.

“What are you doing?”

uhm.. folding laundry?

Then recently, I came back to it and began to search for like-minded people to follow.

I found a LOT of writers. Consequently, I found a lot of blogs on writing. Blogs with tons of good info, and links to more info.

I’ve read, learned, shared my own thoughts, and it’s been great. Twitter helps me keep up when someone posts a new entry, because they’ll tweet about it. I read the chats on writing, and though I don’t often participate, I still learn a lot.

I’ve found nifty tools to use, and lots of advice on the nuts and bolts of the craft.

My writing, as a result, has improved.

So has my confidence. I have published authors telling me they think I write well. I read their blogs and see that they have the same struggles I do with being disciplined, searching for a lost muse, etc.

It makes me feel like more of a ‘real writer’ – which, though I’ve yet to be published, I believe I am. I don’t think being a writer and being published go hand in hand, though that’s our hope, naturally.

Twitter is not just a tool for socializing with your buddies, it’s a useful tool for making connections with others who are in the same area of interest you are – and often with more expertise that you can draw on.

What’s neat about Twitter for you?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn Yalin permalink
    October 26, 2009 3:20 pm

    I agree.
    Too funny, I’ve got a similar post I’m writing about how Twitter and Blogging has helped me.

    • October 26, 2009 7:11 pm

      Hi again Carolyn! Great minds, huh? Where’s your blog?

  2. November 3, 2009 5:26 am

    I *love* finding writers, librarians, teachers and people who are active in fine art. I can’t even describe how encouraging it is to know there are so many creative people out there, even if they’re “just” folding laundry.

    And, there’s nothing like a quote blog getting an appreciative tweet from an honest to goodness publisher, even if the person running their Twitter account is “just” an intern.

    I tell people that quotes are the camel’s nose under the tent, that they’re bridges between people who wouldn’t otherwise read the same stuff or read at much all, or even share enough of the same politics to want to be in the same room with each other. I could go on, but I have to sleep. It’s NaNoWriMo time, I write slowly, and tomorrow will be way too busy.

    • November 3, 2009 7:05 pm

      Hi Elizabeth and welcome 🙂

      I love finding the same kind of people. I have a lot of writers, editors, etc. that I follow, a few quote accounts, plus I follow a few photography accounts as well, including one that one of my friends has, and she has a blog filled with her photos – she’s very talented! 🙂

      It’s nice for me when published authors read what I’ve written and tell me I have talent. I love that. 🙂

      How are you doing with NaNo? My heart just really isn’t into what I’m writing, though I feel it would be a great story. I’m just not into writing it the way I planned. I got an idea at work today that I love even more than what I’m doing, and I’m thinking of changing the entire format.

      This just goes to prove the common thought that we writers really are an insane bunch 😀

Leave a Reply

