Skip to content

Six word stories

February 14, 2010

For the uninitiated – tell a story in just six words. You’ve got to have conflict, action and resolution in just six words. The reader has to know the whole tale from beginning to end in a flash of reading.

Here’s one from Hemingway: “For sale: baby shoes, never worn.”

Pretty powerful for just six words, huh?

I’ve been trying them this morning as a writing exercise. Not as easy as it sounds! Here’s a few I came up with as I sipped my chai tea and ate my oatmeal:

Numb fingertips. Wet socks. Homemade cocoa.

Child. Wife. Mother. Divorcee. Lover. Grandmother.

Unloved roses. Tears for tulips past.

Everyone wants diamonds. Nobody wants garnets.

Beloved cat fights rattlesnake. Children cry.

I have more, but I’m not going to post them here 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 9:28 am

    My favorite: “Numb fingertips. Wet socks. Homemade cocoa.”

    And my own contribution: “Clicked. Read Julee’s Post. Was Amused.”

    • February 19, 2010 12:22 pm

      Jack! Dang it to Disney, dude, where have you been? You don’t call, you don’t write 😉

      Well, okay, maybe you’re writing, but not to MEEEEEE!

      Yeah, that one’s my favorite too.

      And your contribution is great 😀

      Here’s my next one:

      Jack stopped in. Julee’s tickled pink!

      • February 20, 2010 4:47 pm

        Oh, man, it’s a long story. Suffice it to say, I’m glad to be back!

  2. Linda Ritscher permalink
    May 24, 2010 2:57 am

    Breathe, see, laugh, cry, choke, die.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

